Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research - NIOZ

Part of Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek - NWO
Acronym NIOZ
Address Landsdiep 4, 1797 SZ 't Horntje - Texel
Get directions Google Maps
Postal address Postbus 59, 1790 AB Den Burg - Texel
Phone +31-222-369300
Fax +31-222-319674
Email carmen. blaauboer -at- nioz. nl
Mission NIOZ Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research is the National Oceanographic Institute of the Netherlands. NIOZ is part of the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO). The institute employs around 200 people and the annual budget is approximately 20 million. The mission of NIOZ is to gain and communicate scientific knowledge on seas and oceans for the understanding and sustainable development of our planet. To fulfil this mission, NIOZ is active in three fields. The emphasis is on innovative, independent fundamental research in continental seas and open oceans. Strategic research to answer societal questions is also performed when it merges well with the primary research task. NIOZ educates PhD and master students and organizes oceanographic courses in co-operation with universities. NIOZ has laboratories, research vessels and a highly specialised technology department. These facilities are open to marine scientists from universities and other institutes. The basic oceanographic disciplines studied at NIOZ are physics, chemistry, biology and geology. Multidisciplinary research is regarded as one of the main strengths of NIOZ and therefore the research is organised in multi-disciplinary themes.
Addition Personeel in vaste dienst: 140 FTE. Personeel in tijdelijke dienst: 90 FTE

Organisational departments

(Other departments may refer to researchers and projects as well.)
NIOZ Yerseke


Management Prof.dr. H. (Henk) Brinkhuis
Management H. Ridderinkhof
Programme leader / Group leader H.J.W. de Baar
Programme leader / Group leader Dr. J.P. Boon
Programme leader / Group leader Drs. T. de Bruin
Programme leader / Group leader Dr. G.J.A. Brummer
Programme leader / Group leader Prof.dr. T. Piersma
Programme leader / Group leader J.S. (Jaap) Sinninghe Damsté
Programme leader / Group leader Ir. M.G. Smit
Programme leader / Group leader H.W. van der Veer

Current research

Completed research


Go to page top
Go back to contents
Go back to site navigation