Leiden Institute of Chemistry

Part of Faculteit der Wiskunde en Natuurwetenschappen
Part of Universiteit Leiden
Acronym LIC
Address Einsteinweg 55, 2333 CC Leiden
Get directions Google Maps
Postal address Postbus 9502, 2300 RA Leiden
Phone +31-71-5274557
Fax +31-71-5274537
Email kruipam -at- chem. leidenuniv. nl
Mission The mission of the LIC is to perform high-level research in 2 scientific core areas, and devoted to improved understanding in the fields of: a. chemistry and physics of life processes, with special attention to structure and functions of biomacromolecules; b. chemistry and physics of materials, with special attention for charged polymers, moleculair materials, catalyst materials and catalysis. Essential elements of the mission and our profile are: interdisciplinarity in research; concentration on internationally strong research positions; interaction with other important research groups in Leiden; sufficient diversity to allow high-level teaching of graduates and undergraduates; open attitude to new scientific developments and focus on topics of national interest.

Organisational departments

(Other departments may refer to researchers and projects as well.)
Netherlands Research School of Chemical Biology (NRSCB)


Visiting professor Prof.dr. J.M.F.G. Aerts
Professor Prof.dr. C.A.A. van Boeckel
Professor Prof.dr. E. Bouwman
Professor Prof.dr. J. Brouwer
Professor Prof.dr. E. Drent
Professor Prof.dr. P. Ehrenfreund
Professor J.G.E.M. Fraaije
Professor Prof.dr. W.J. de Grip
Professor Prof.dr. H.J.M. de Groot
Professor Prof.dr. M. (Marin) van Heel
Professor Prof.dr. M.T.M. (Marc) Koper
Professor Prof.dr. G.J. (Geert-Jan) Kroes
Professor Prof.dr. G.A. van der Marel
Professor Prof.dr. M.H.M. Noteborn
Professor Prof.dr. H. Ovaa
Professor Prof.dr. H.S. Overkleeft
Professor Prof.dr. M. (Marcellus) Ubbink
Professor L.J. (Lucas) van Vliet
Part-time professor Prof.dr. A.W. Kleijn
Extraordinary professor Prof.dr. J.R. Wijbrans
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. D. Bedeaux
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. A. van der Gen
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. M.C. van Hemert
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. A.P.G. Kieboom
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. J. Lugtenburg
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. B.E. Nieuwenhuys
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. J. Reedijk
Associate professor Dr. E.M. Blokhuis
Associate professor Dr. R.T. Dame
Associate professor Dr. N. Goosen
Associate professor Dr. A. Kros
Associate professor Dr. J. Raap
Associate professor Dr. M. van der Stelt
Management Prof.dr. J. Brouwer

Current research

Completed research


Go to page top
Go back to contents
Go back to site navigation