Johann Bernoulli Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science

Part of Faculteit der Wiskunde en Natuurwetenschappen
Part of Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Acronym JBI
Address Nijenborgh 9, 9747 AG Groningen
Get directions Google Maps
Postal address Postbus 407, 9700 AK Groningen
Phone +31-50-3633973
Fax +31-50-3633800
Email JBIboard -at- rug. nl
Mission The Johann Bernoulli Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science comprises two sections: Mathematics and Computer Science. These sections are not separate administrative units but are rather clusters of basic units (basiseenheden) formed around chairs and research programmes: six mathematics research programmes and five computer science research programmes. The set of programmes as a whole has as its main goal performing research at a high international level, leading to publications in international scientific journals and a steady stream of highly qualified researchers (at PhD level). The intended audience consists of the academic research community on one hand and social and professional practice (e.g. industry, hospitals and administration) on the other hand. The Institute aims to provide an attractive research environment for graduate students by maintaining a modern infrastructure and by appointing highly competent and active scientific staff members. The constituting programmes participate in seven graduate schools (onderzoekscholen) and most of the PhD students are enrolled in the educational programmes and take part in other activities offered by these schools.


Adjunct professor Prof.dr. P. (Paris) Avgeriou
Adjunct professor Prof.dr. M. (Michael) Biehl
Adjunct professor Prof.dr. M.K. Camlibel
Honorary professor Prof.dr. C. (Christof) Külske
Adjunct professor Prof.dr. A. (Alexander) Lazovik
Adjunct professor Prof.dr. A.C. (Alexandru) Telea
Adjunct professor Prof.dr. J. Top
Professor Prof.dr. M. (Marco) Aiello
Professor Prof.dr. H.W. Broer
Professor Prof.dr. N. Petkov
Professor Prof.dr. G.R. Renardel de Lavalette
Professor Prof.dr. J.B.T.M. Roerdink
Professor Prof.dr. A.J. van der Schaft
Professor Prof.dr. H.L. Trentelman
Professor Prof.dr. G. Vegter
Professor Prof.dr. E.A. Verbitskiy
Professor Prof.dr. E.C. Wit
Honorary professor J. Bosch
Honorary professor Prof.dr. M.E. Dür
Honorary professor H.S.V. de Snoo
Extraordinary professor Prof.dr. A.C.D. van Enter
Extraordinary professor Prof.dr. M. Stal
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. R.F. Curtain (PhD)
Professor emeritus A. Dijksma
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. W.H. Hesselink
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. M. van der Put
Professor emeritus Prof.dr. A.E.P. Veldman
Associate professor R.W.C.P. Verstappen
Associate professor Dr. M.H.F. Wilkinson
Associate professor F.W. Wubs
Management Prof.dr. H.W. Broer

Current research

Completed research


Go to page top
Go back to contents
Go back to site navigation